340 Tracks and Counting

On my Starred Playlist on Spotify I have 340 Tracks. Unlike any other playlist this is the one where I vowed never to un-star a song. I have songs from my early childhood, songs from my sad music faze, and some random dance mom inspired songs. I’m going to tell you about some of the songs that I have a particular love for

Red Vines (Aimee Mann)  – When I was very little my mom used to listen to this song and I loved it. When I got Spotify this was the first song I starred ever! This song has a special place in my heart because I’ve loved it for so long. (Starred April 4th, 2012)

My Immortal (Evanescence) – I went through a bit of an Evanescence kick mainly because I met one of my best friends. We decided that we were going to make a movie (A hunger games kind of feel) and I was in charge of making the playlist. I put this song on the playlist because I thought it was so pretty. Then later at the talent show I sang that song with 2 of my best friends. (Starred June 29th, 2012)

You Found Me (The Fray) – I starred this song on my birthday. I remember planning this out way in advance! I really wanted to star it on my birthday because it was my favorite song. I listened to it on repeat several times in a day in did probably up until I discovered this next song. (Starred July 20th, 2012)

Pretty Baby (Vanessa Cartlon) – Every Sunday at my mom’s house we had this thing called “camp”. One camp I picked a song for everyone there. I was randomly looking up titles like coffee on a porch for Emmely (My mom’s friend) Or red high heels for Courtenay. This song I looked up for Courtenay’s daughter Clair who was only 4 at the time. I feel in love with it. (Starred August 6th, 2012)

Be Be Your Love (Rachael Yamagata) – My mom made a playlist for her friend Holly, and one thime when we were going up to a very small town in Alabama where my great grandmother lives she played this playlist. I had an obsession with this song. We listened to it like 14 times going down there! (September 28th, 2012)

Breathe in Breathe out (Mat Kearney) – My step-mom Juli made a playlist for my dad. I’m not sure when she made it but I herd it only 3 months after they were married. It was hard for all of us including me and my step brother Zander. This song was my escape. It basically dominated any other music for a while. (Starred November 29th, 2012 My dad’s birthday)

National Anthem (Lana Del Ray) – I still get goose bumps when I hear this song! I absolutely love this song! I listened to it so many times that I wrote the lyrics down in my math journal at school. I can still repeat on the spot all the lyrics to this song. (Starred December 29th, 2012)

One (Mary J Blige and U2) – My mom’s boyfriend Chuck showed this song to her and then she showed it to me. I really liked U2! My dad and step-mom Juli went to the concert while my mom and grandparents were in India but, I have to say Mary J Blige really made this song for me. I have yet to find someone who doesn’t love this song. (Starred January 37th, 2013)

Vienna (The Fray) – This is the best song ever! Enough said. (Starred January 31st, 2013)

Radioactive (Imagine Dragons) – When I first heard this song I was on a dace kick I loved choreographing dances and I still do. Anyway one of the girls who would dance to the things I did I thought would rock this song as a solo. Her name is Ryely and she is one of my dearest friends! I don’t know what I would do without her! (Starred March 10th, 3013)

Total Eclipse of the Heart (Bonnie Tyler) – I know what you’re thinking. Yes I am 12 and I love classic 80s music. My mom did an interpretive dance to this song. It was about drugs, and clearly she was one of the bad girls. No just kidding she was a total goodie goodie, but It was acting class so she had to act. Anyway this song is amazing for all generations! (Starred April 10th, 2013)

Slow it Down (The Lumineers) – One night my mom and I were going to see the lights exhibit at Cheekwood but unfortunately it was closed. Long story short we went for a walk in some random park and thought we got lost and all this interesting stuff. We listened to this song the entire way home. (Starred May 26th, 2013)

Young and Beautiful (Lana Del Ray) – This song is currently my favorite song. There is one lyric that literally makes me get goosebumps and makes be breathe heavily. The lyric “Hot summer nights, mid July when you and I were forever wild”. That song is my favorite song ever and no one is going to tell me otherwise! (Starred June 19th, 1013)

Words (Skylar Grey) – Im sure most of you have heard the song Words I never said by Lupe Fiasco. Well the girl singer in that song is Skylar Grey. She has an Album called the Buried Sessions of Skylar Grey. And the songs are 100% her. No rapper to back it up just her. Not many people know about her and if you don’t you should really look her up. (Starred June 27th, 2013)

My Heart Will Go On (Celine Dion) – One night I was having a sleepover with one of my best friends in the whole world Zoe and we watched Titanic. Yes we had never seen that movie. Anyways we were like screaming at the TV. “Rose don’t leave him to die!” “Save her Jack!” It lasted a while. Anyway I fell in love with this song. (Starred July 14th, 3013)

Disappear (Christina Li) – I have a weird obsession with the show Dance Moms. I love the dancing and music. I honestly could care less about the mom drama. Anyway one of the top dancers Maddie Ziegler danced to this song. I really loved the songs on Dance Moms but this song is by far my favorite (Starred July 25th, 2013)

Royals (Lorde) – My mom asked on facebook what songs people listened to over and over again. This was one of them. Occasionally on Sundays we have yes days where we basically do whatever we want. On this sunday me, Caroline and Zoe went in one car and we all fell in love with this song! (Starred Last Sunday)

4 thoughts on “340 Tracks and Counting

  1. Oh, Lily, I don’t know if this is the cutest thing ever or the sweetest thing ever. You have no idea how happy I am that you enjoy riding around in the car with me, listening to music and talking about life. And great call on Aimee Mann. It was awesome when you, in your early childhood, would sing along to:
    Are cigarettes and red vines
    Just close your eyes, ’cause, baby–
    You never do know
    And I’ll be on the sidelines,
    With my hands tied,
    Watching the show

  2. I also love Red Vines because the first time I ever heard it was when you and your mom were singing it on my porch at a karaoke night. Your reasons for loving a couple of these songs brought tears to my eyes. You are one special girl.

  3. Pingback: 340 Tracks and Counting | Knight Stivender's life in full

Leave a comment